My Middy Haircut

Its been a long long time!

I am embarrassed to say when the last haircut was – well that is the last “real” haircut… I have hacked away at it myself a few times, as my hairdresser found out yesterday. Consequently it was long, heavy and difficult to style.In order to be true to the vintage styling ethos I required a vintage haircut. Thanks to the wonderful world wide web this is very do-able.

Enter the Middy…

This haircut was devised in the 40’s for Hollywood actresses. It is basically a blunt cut layered style, that has an exagerated U shape in the back.

The beauty of it is that you can choose whatever length you desire, its easy to adapt.

This is the second Middy I have had, I felt very confident this time as I know from experience that it is great if you regularly curl your hair. It makes the curls fall nicely and because its not too heavy they stay in well.

And it doesnt look too strange un-styled.

So off i went to my hairdresser – armed with the above diagram.

I went for a longer version of the “femme fatale” cut. Instead of 4 inches on the side and 6 inches at the back, I have 8 at the side and 10 at the back. The other layers were adapted to this length also.

This is the finished product un-styled. Sorry about the AWFUL photo, no makeup and bad light.

UUURRGGH.

And here it is curled and fancied up for the rugby world cup game between USA and Australia. Every kiwi was an American for the night.

So girls, if you are considering going for the Middy, I hope this is helpful. feel free to ask questions.

About Starlet O Hara

Once upon a time there was a girl called Starlet.. She hankered for a bygone era when men opened car doors for a gal, telephones were attached to the wall and women knew the power of red lipstick. So Starlet decided to live in the past. She learnt how to curl her hair, make her own clothes and make glamour her business. These are her adventures.

3 responses »

  1. It looks damn good! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I had a dream last night that I was at the hairdressers getting a middy. They did not know what one was so I was on the internet looking up the diagram. I remember telling them I wanted my hair to be like Marilyn Monroe's. (Don't think she had a middy, but alas it was a dream). Then they told me it would cost $1000.00. hmmmmm. I think I'll find someone else to cut a middy.

    It was funny to see your post this morning. The dream (and it felt like a really long one, is very fresh in my mind).

    ps…you hair looks great. I think I will get a shorter one. Somewhere in between the diagram and yours.

    Reply
  3. hee hee! I think the universe is telling you to do it – GET A MIDDY!!
    google “middy haircut diagrams” and it will show you a whole heap of different length options.
    Good luck

    Reply

Leave a comment